Group Logo

Our Group History

To explore more details about our Group's history,
select the year of interest from the History menu above.

The oldest Scout Group in our local area is the Menai Scout Group, established by the Carter family in 1940. It was the third Scout Group in the entire Sutherland Shire. 

The Bangor Scout Group, established in early 1986, is the second oldest Scout Group (after the Menai Group) in the Yaroona District. Our Group was founded by the Cork and Fairhall families and their vision and dedication initiated a strong and successful Scout Group that has enriched the lives of the youth of Bangor for many years.

Ross Reserve, where the Bangor Scout hall now stands, was farmland owned by the Carter family.

By early 2007 the Bangor Scout Group had grown to be the largest Scout Group in the South Metropolitan Region of Sydney and the fourth largest in NSW by youth membership numbers and sixth largest in NSW by total membership of adults and youth. (Source - Scouts Australia NSW Branch census database, March 2007).